GP career start scheme

Join our clinical community

South Tees clinicians on one of their regular walks with families through the local countryside

We are offering a bespoke package for 10 GPs combining general practice with special interest opportunities tailored to individual career paths. In addition to two dedicated education and professional development sessions per week for two years, there are opportunities to gain a teaching qualification from Newcastle University.  A minimum of 2 days will be spent in practice, with 2-4 days in an acute or mental health setting.  Applicants must have qualified within the last two years and not be currently working as a salaried GP/partner in the North East.

We have a supportive clinical community where primary and secondary care colleagues get together socially and for professional support. Read what the BMJ wrote about us and visit https://onesouthtees.com/ or the Twitter feed at @OneSouthTees

Middlesbrough and Redcar & Cleveland sit amongst the Cleveland Hills, next to the North Yorkshire Moors.   High quality executive housing can be obtained at reasonable prices. Whether practising in an urban or village setting, you’re never far from the town, hills or coastline. We have award winning restaurants nearby as well as an arts centre, modern art gallery, theatres, live music and comedy.

Our practices recognise individuality and support special interests, and we have a number of surgeries operating different ways of working meaning that you can find the practice that’s right for you.

Please watch our videos, which illustrate our beautiful part of the country and the opportunities available to you!

Video 1 – The Job

Find out about the fantastic career opportunities available on Teesside from Dr Irene Redolat Castella and Dr Paul Chatterjee.

Video 2 – The Area

Find out more about the diverse Teesside area, with an eclectic mix of scenery, culture, sport and stunning coastlines.

Contact Julie.bailey2@nhs.net or 01642 263038 for information and see details below of practices participating in the scheme.

 

Practice Contact details Telephone Number Email address Practice Profile
Coatham Surgery Helen Williams, Practice Manager

 

01642 483638 helen.williams6@nhs.net
Eston Surgery Claire Hutchinson, Practice Manager 01642 511583 clairehutchinson@nhs.net  Eston profile
Saltscar Surgery Suzanne Wilson, Practice Manager Suzanne.wilson2@nhs.net  Saltscar profile
Endeavour Practice / Martonside Medical Centre Michaela Dark – Practice Manager

Steve Donlan – Management Partner

01642 812266

 

 

01642 242192

Michaela.dark@nhs.net  Endeavour and Martonside profile
Bluebell Medical Centre Catherine Hurst, Practice Manager 01642 827697 Catherine.hurst2@nhs.net  Bluebell profile
Newlands Medical Centre Colette Shipley, Practice Manager 01642 247029 Colette.shipley@nhs.net  Newlands profile
Park Surgery Stephen Doyle, Managing Partner 01642 737752 Stephen.doyle@nhs.net  Park Surgery profile
Resolution Health Centre 01642 511854 Alex.calabro@nhs.net

Gemma.swan2@stees.nhs.uk

 Resolution Profile
Discovery Practice Dr Vaishali Nanda 01642 245069 Vaishali.nanda@nhs.net  Discovery profile
South Grange Medical Practice Karen Brain, Practice Manager 01642 467001 Karen.brain@nhs.net  South Grange profile
Linthorpe Surgery Tracy Garbutt, Practice Manager

 

Dr Hugh Alberti

01642 856066 Tracy.grabutt@nhs.net

 

Hugh.alberti@newcastle.ac.uk

 Linthorpe profile
The Village Medical Centre Tracy Doyle 01642 851122 Tracy.doyle@nhs.net Village Medical Profile